If you recently moved to Monterey and need to obtain auto insurance, you need to find out more about the minimum coverages. You also need to familiarize yourself with some of the insurance laws unique to California.
California requires that minimum coverages for car insurance include the following:
- Bodily injury (liability) insurance: $15,000 per individual and $30,000 per accident
- Property damage protection: $5000
- Uninsured motorist protection: $15,000 per individual and $30,000 per accident
- Uninsured property damage coverage: $3500
Also, keep in mind when buying car insurance in Monterey, CA that California allows for a deductible waiver for collision coverage. By implementing this waiver, your insurer pays the collision deductible on cars caused by an uninsured motorist.
What About Discounts?
You should also check for car insurance discounts when you enroll in an insurance plan. While the above information details minimum coverage amounts, it is always prudent to increase the coverage if you can afford to do so. By taking advantage of certain discounts, you can increase your protection and feel safer when you drive.
If you receive a letter that shows that the state cannot verify the insurance coverage on your car, it may not have the correct vehicle identification number or VIN on record. Sometimes your insurance coverage from out of state has lapsed as well. Any type of misinformation given during your move can cause this type of occurrence.
Who to Contact in Monterey
If you are moving to California or have just moved into Monterey, contact a company such as Coast Auto Insurance for further details. Work with a local insurer so you can insure your car at the best coverage and price. Whether you are a new resident in California or have been living in the state all your life, you can count on better insurance coverage by making comparisons online. Check out the services today so you can make a better decision for your auto insurance protection.