The state of Wisconsin upholds strict laws that apply to driving while under the influence. The nationally-mandated blood-alcohol reading of 0.08 percent implies that the driver is over the influence of alcohol when given a breathalyzer test. This limit is decreased to 0.04 percent for any commercial drivers caught in violation of these laws. Wisconsin imposes zero tolerance for minor consumption or drunk driving as implied in state-wide changes initiated in 2010. Anyone facing these charges should consult a Drunk Driving lawyer in Beaver Dam WI.
Penalties and Charges
Laws imposed, which apply to driving under the influence in Wisconsin fall under the implied consent ruling. Any driver who chooses to drive or operate any motorized vehicle after consuming alcohol has given his or her consent to chemical or breathalyzer testing through their actions. Refusal to take a breathalyzer imposes a one-year license suspension for each occurrence in which he or she will not submit to testing. For instance, the first offense imposes a one-year license suspension, and a second incurs a two-year period.
The first driving under the influence offense does not require a minimum jail sentence. It does, however, incur a fine that ranges between $150 and $300. The driver’s license is suspended for no less than six months and no longer than nine. The judge may allow an occupational license for the driver under specific stipulations. Alcohol assessment is required as is the acquisition of SR22 automobile insurance.
A second offense in Wisconsin imposes a minimum jail sentence of five days and maximum of six months. The required fines range between $300 and $1,100. The license is suspended for at least one year, and an occupational license is allowed after sixty days. However, if the second offense occurred within the same five-year period as the first offense, the driver will not receive an occupational license for at least one year.
The DMV may impound or immobilize the vehicle. An ignition locking device is required and the installation costs are incurred by the driver. He or she is also required to undergo alcohol assessment. Any driver arrested for DUI should contact a Drunk Driving lawyer in Beaver Dam WI or Click here to learn more.