If you purchase a car in Delaware only to find that it has a serious defect, it may be a lemon. To classify as a lemon in Delaware, the car must have been in for the same repair four times or in the shop for 30 days or more. The defect must be identified and reported within one year from the date of possession or within the warranty period.
The law is enforced by the Delaware DOJ. The law applies to the purchase of new cars as well as new trucks; it covers defects that impair the use, safety, or resale value of the vehicle.
What Happens When Your Car is Classified as a Lemon in Delaware?
When the vehicle has been unavailable for 30 days, or it has been in the shop four times for the same issue, the manufacturer must either provide you with a replacement or repurchase the vehicle. The first entity involved is the dealer. In the majority of cases, your demand will be met. Manufacturer’s authorized dealers in Delaware are licensed by the Department of Motor Vehicles and are obliged to protect the rights of consumers.
If you cannot get recompense from the dealer that you purchased the car from, or directly from the manufacturer, you can exercise your rights under the lemon law.
To enforce their rights, consumers in Delaware can call the Fraud and Consumer Protection Division of the Attorney General’s Office. If you are hesitant to pursue the case yourself, any expenses you have when you hire an attorney will be reimbursed when you win the case.
It is essential that you can fully document your case. When you first purchase the car, begin keeping any and all records that pertain to the vehicle’s service history. Accurate records will strengthen your case if you have to take the manufacturer or dealer to court.
If you think your car’s issues fall under the lemon law, you need a good attorney. Visit Krohn & Moss, Ltd. Consumer Law Center® in Delaware and request a free case review.